"A TLS error occurred" on multiple systems

I am new to HiveMQ but a current user of an in house MQTT broker. I am using mosquitto_pub/sub to test initial connection to the cloud broker before updating our code.
I am a TLS beginner but I’m familiar with MQTT/Mosquitto.

I have tried connection on 4 systems: Windows(Win10 - mosquitto v2.0.14), Ubuntu(18.04 - mosq 2.0.10), Ubuntu(20.04 - mosq 2.0.14), Pi(10(Buster) - mosq 1.5.7)

I’m running:
mosquitto_pub -h xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx.s1.eu.hivemq.cloud -p 8883 -u xxxxxx -P xxxxxx -t ‘my/test/topic’ -m ‘Hello2’
mosquitto_sub -h xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx.s1.eu.hivemq.cloud -p 8883 -u xxxxxx -P xxxxxx -t my/test/topic

The Ubuntu 20.04 works perfectly ‘out-the-box’ as describe in the getting started guides, without defining the tls cafile on the command line. This shows that the host/port/usr/pwd are all good.

On Windows and the Ubuntu 18.04 systems I consistently get “Error: A TLS error occurred”. This happens whether or not I include the “–cafile trustid-x3-root.pem” ( I know it has found the ca file because if a mistype it I get a file not found error instead)

On the Pi mos_sub seems to works (IE it gives no errors) but mos_pub gives me “Error: The connection was lost.” without the --cafile switch, and “Error: Problem setting TLS options.” with it.

I not sure what to try next. Any suggestions would be welcome.

Rob

Hi Hermansam,

and welcome our HiveMQ community! So, to summarise the issue, the mosquitto- _pub and _sub had TLS issues when connecting to the HiveMQ Cloud broker. What about the MQTT CLI client – did it work fine on all above listed OS?

Thanks,
Dasha from HiveMQ Team

I’ve only tried it on Windows and it did work. I haven’t tried it on the Linux boxes.
Mosquitto are the tools we know and would prefer to keep

Hi hermansam,

thank you for clarification. Trying out the MQTT CLI could help narrow down, if the problem lies within the system TLS or the mosquitto library.