Subscription callback works in unit test but not in Anroid app (newb)

I’m a newb building an Android app using HiveMQ.to communicate with an IoT broker.

My stand-alone unit test works great: I can subscribe to a topic, publish a message, and see the response come into my subscription callback:

mqttClient.subscribeWith()
            .topicFilter(this.clientResponseTopic)
            .callback(published -> {
                Log.d(TAG, "subscribe: callback: enter");
                String string = new String(published.getPayloadAsBytes(), StandardCharsets.UTF_8);
                Log.d(TAG, "subscribe: callback: topic=" + published.getTopic() + "\n" + string);
            })
            .send()
            .whenComplete((ack, exception) -> {
            });

And the unit test logs show the output:

subscribe: callback: topic=/app/2208401-0744fb78a23042d1fada1647c1a8576e/subscribe

However, when I run my App, I can see the subscription request sent successfully, but I never ever hear any messages in my callback. I’ve tested both in an emulator, and on my personal device.

I’ve read the HiveMQ Andriod Guide, and I’ve checked all of that twice.

I feel like something is either blocking responses from coming in, or Android is killing whatever it is HiveMQ stands up to listen for responses.

If someone can suggest what I might be doing wrong, I’d appreciate it. If not, I’d also appreciate any HiveMQ/Android debug/diagnostic/triage tips.

I’ve added ‘org.slf4j:slf4j-android:1.7.30’ to my Gradle project in hopes of getting HiveMQ’s logging to show up, but it seems that is flawed.

Hi @Trinition ,

To see if the issue is on the broker side or on the client side, I would install HiveMQ broker locally, in order to have full control over the traffic and to be able to see all communication logs on the broker side.