Store massages in MsSQL

I’ve recently started using HiveMQ, but I’m wondering if there is a version of the old extension (https://github.com/hivemq/hivemq-database-example-plugin) that supports HiveMQ 4.4.
My idea is to create an extension that will store values coming from my sensors to the database so the frontend can read them from the database and display as a graph.
I will have two topics per sensor.
The topics are like this:
{deviceId}/temperature
{deviceId}/humidity

I’ve tried creating the basic extension (following the tutorial), it worked fine, but now I want to add the data storing but as I wrote I’m relatively new to HiveMQ.

Also another question.
I want to store device status (online/offline) in the database.
What Interceptors I should use? Connect/Disconnect Inbound or Connack/Disconnect Outbound?

Hi Misiu,

Welcome to the HiveMQ Community Forum and thanks for your interest in developing extensions.

Currently there is no database example extension for HiveMQ 4.4, but to achieve your goals you could use a PublishInboundInterceptor for the messages from the devices and the ClientLifecycleEventListener for the device status.

Here an example for the PublishInboundInterceptor:

final PublishInboundInterceptor myInterceptor = new PublishInboundInterceptor() {
            @Override
            public void onInboundPublish(final @NotNull PublishInboundInput publishInboundInput, final @NotNull PublishInboundOutput publishInboundOutput) {
                final String clientId = publishInboundInput.getClientInformation().getClientId();
                final String topic = publishInboundInput.getPublishPacket().getTopic();
                if (topic.equals(clientId + "/temperature")) {
                    final Optional<ByteBuffer> payload = publishInboundInput.getPublishPacket().getPayload();
                    if(payload.isPresent()){
                        final String temperature = new String(getBytesFromBuffer(payload.get()));