HiveMQ Clients Opening And Closing Connections

I’m new to HiveMQ and I’m planning to use it for one of my projects and I woukld like to know if the client connections to HiveMQ are similiar to database connections where you have a fixed number of connections and you pool them. Is a HiveMQ client connection the same way to be handled or can I open and close them for each and every single message that my application will be sending. Could someone point me to some documentation on this please?

Hello @Joesan ,

Thank you for the outreach!

Each client that connects to the HiveMQ broker maintains a connection to the broker until the connection is terminated, whether that be via communication termination, a client-initiated disconnect, or a broker-initiated disconnect. Typically, there is a limitation to the number of unique clients connected at any single time to one broker, as each connection utilizes a number of resources to maintain connectivity and client persistence.

With that said, there is no issue with connecting a client, publishing a message, and then disconnecting the client, so long as the client session persistence is properly configured to meet the deployment’s needs.

For more information, I highly recommend reviewing our MQTT essentials series. This part in particular covers client connections with MQTT.

Best,
Aaron from the HiveMQ Team

1 Like

Thanks for the reply. I have one other question:

asyncMqttClient(mqttCfg).connect()
  .thenCompose(_ => client.publishWith().topic(topic).qos(mqttQos).send)
  .thenAccept(publishResult => println(s"publishedResult $publishResult"))
  .thenCompose(_ => client.disconnect())
  .thenAccept(_ => println(s"disconnected"))
  .asScala

In that code, the client connects, publishes and then disconnects, so let us assume that there is an error that happens during the publish, would the disconnect still run? Is that a recipie for a connection leak?