Backpressure support

Hi,

I am doing a bachelor thesis about the performance of MQTT under backpressure, where I want to compare a reactive and an imperative approach. I have therefore looked at HiveMQ, because it supports backpressure, and it has a blocking and a reactive API flavour which I am considering to test. I have played a little with HiveMQ, and have got the community edition broker talking with the blocking clients locally. I have some questions though which I hope you can help me with:

1. Is backpressure implemented in all of the flavours, or only in the reactive version?
  2. Should any additional thing be done to invoke backpressure, or is following the readme enough?
  3. Can you point me somewhere where I can read about HiveMQ’s backpressure support, or can you send me something (examples/documentation)?

I would appreciate your help :slight_smile:

Best regards,
Mustafa

Hi Mustafa,

It’s awesome to see you have chosen the topics of MQTT and backpressure for your bachelors thesis!
Please do keep us updated :slight_smile:

Regarding your querries:

1. With the reactive API you can implement non-blocking backpressure in both directions (sending and receiving messages). When using the asynchronous or blocking APIs, method calls for sending messages will block when backpressure is applied by the broker. With the asynchronous API backpressure for receiving messages can not be applied without blocking in the callback (which is not a good idea). With the blocking API backpressure is applied to the broker if the receive methods are not called.

2. Please read about reactive pull backpressure of the reactive-streams specificationand flow control of the MQTT 5 specification

3. HiveMQ limits the amount of inflight messages via send and receive maximum. You can configure these at the broker and the client. Please also read about flow control of the MQTT 5 specification.

Let us know, if we can provide further assistance.

Kind regards,
Florian